Mill located on the campground property was built in 1848 by Willis
Rabun Woody. In 1838 he moved his family to this beautiful valley
known to the Cherokee Indians as Skeenah, meaning Big Bear.
The Mill is listed in the Historic Mills of America and
pictured on page 46 and 47. The Mill is not currently in use, but we
hope to have it restored in the future. At the present time we will
not allow visitors inside the Mill.
office is now located in the Willis Rabun Woody house built in 1895.
The House has been restored to as much as the same as it was in
1895, except some minor changes with modern conveniences. Pictures
of the House and Mill and details are shown on pages 174 to 184 of
the book In Touch With The Past.
Enjoy a day
with the family at the nearby fish hatchery, trying your luck from
our fishing area or the many trout streams in the area. We have a
basketball ring for the young and young at heart. There are numerous
hiking trails to explore in the Chattahoochee National Forest.
Creek Campground is located at the intersection of GA Hwy. 60 and
Skeenah Gap Rd. About 19 miles from Blairsville, 18 miles from Blue
Ridge and 15 miles from Suches.